One of the foundations for a strong democracy is that the electorate has access to reliable information about elections, and we know people look to Wikipedia to guide them during election season. In fact, in 2020, Wikipedia’s article about the 2020 United States presidential election reached more than 25 million readers.

In the year leading up to the 2024 election, Wiki Education is running a series of Wiki Scholars courses to support political scientists, historians, and other experts as they learn how to share their invaluable knowledge with the electorate through Wikipedia. We’re running 8-week virtual Wiki Scientists courses to give participants the time and space to learn how to add important research related to these topics to Wikipedia. Selected applicants will participate in an in-depth, structured Wikipedia training, giving them the dedicated time and support they need to join the open knowledge movement.

Together with our partners and participants, we’re excited to tackle topics from local policy issues to electoral processes to comprehensive biographies of candidates up for election. Our team of Wikipedia experts will help participants discover relevant high-value pages likely to reach a huge audience in 2024. We’re excited to see the impact this group of scholars will have, and we hope you’ll consider signing up! If the course time doesn’t fit your schedule, but you’re interested in this initiative, please feel free to apply to a different course and make note of your topic(s) of interest. While we have selected thematic topics for each course, in order to guide our experts, we’re open to your ideas about the information people need in order to make well-informed voting decisions and to feel confident in the electoral process.

Please join us in this initiative and sign up for an upcoming course that fits into your area of interest and expertise:

History of Social Movements in the US

February 6–March 26, 2024

Tuesdays from 12:00 – 1:00 PM Pacific (3:00 – 4:00 PM Eastern)

Learn More

 

Elections and Voting Behavior

February 28–April 17, 2024

Wednesdays from 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Pacific (2:00 – 3:00 PM Eastern)

Learn More

 

March 18–May 6, 2024

Mondays from 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Pacific (2:00 – 3:00 PM Eastern)

Learn More

 

Women and Politics in the US

April 16–June 6, 2024

Tuesdays from 9:00 – 10:00 AM Pacific (12:00 – 1:00 PM Eastern)

Learn More

 

The 2024 Election

May 7–July 2, 2024

Tuesdays from 11:00 AM – 12:00 PM Pacific (2:00 – 3:00 PM Eastern)

Learn More